Definitive List Of Ingredients Containing Gluten from the GlutenFreeSchool.com

This information is excerpted from GlutenFreeSchool.com, a website dedicated to teaching gluten-sensitive individuals simple, savvy and empowering steps to get healthy.

***

Since gluten-free labeling is only for food and supplements, knowing at least some of the hidden gluten ingredients are helpful for spotting gluten hidden in body care products, makeup, pet care products, and more. Small exposures perpetuate a cycle of inflammation that prevents you from really feeling like yourself again.

Additionally, gluten has one important superpower that most other foods do not — it causes leaky gut in everyone no matter whether you’re celiac, you’re gluten sensitive, or you have no reaction at all to gluten. A 2015 study looking at the effects of gluten on all three groups by a team including Dr. Alessio Fasano demonstrated that gluten spares no one. Leaky gut (or more the more medically appropriate term “gut permeability”) is a significant factor for those who react to gluten. It’s believed to be part of the mechanism behind triggering autoimmunity in the Functional Medicine world and is responsible for increasing the number of sensitivities you have to other foods.

When Gluten Free is Not Really Gluten Free

A study in 2014 found that 20% of gluten-free products tested for gluten were actually not gluten-free! They contained over equal to or above the 20ppm threshold that’s legal in the US. And while you can scour ingredient lists, still not feeling better may suggest that you’re still being exposed to gluten and preventing your body from healing.

The bottom line is that you MUST learn to read food labels so as to avoid hidden gluten. Fixating on ingredient lists isn’t full-proof… at all. Please know that this list is not the end-all-be-all of hidden gluten ingredients in food. Understanding gluten-free labeling is critical to mastering a gluten-free diet. No list or even mobile app can replace knowing what to look for.

Abyssinian hard (wheat Triticum durum)
Amp-isostearoyl hydrolyzed
Barley grass (may contain seeds)*
Barley hordeum vulgare
Barley malt
Barley malt beer
Barley malt extract
Barley malt flavoring
Beer
Bleached flour
Blue cheese (made with bread)
Bran
Bread crumbs* (including Panko)
Bread flour
Brewer’s yeast
Brown flour
Brown rice syrup*
Bulgur (bulgar wheat/nuts)
Bulgur wheat
Club wheat (Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum)
Common wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Couscous
Croutons*
Dextrimaltose
Disodium wheat germamido peg-2 sulfosuccinate
Durum wheat (Triticum durum)
Edible starch
Einkorn (Triticum monococcum)
Emmer (Triticum dicoccon)
Farina
Farina graham
Farro
Filler
Flour or Enriched flour (normally this is wheat)
Fu (dried wheat gluten)
Germ
Gluten
Graham flour
Grain-based vinegar
Granary flour
Hing (spice)
Hydrolyzed wheat gluten
Hydrolyzed wheat protein
Hydrolyzed wheat protein pg-propyl silanetriol
Kamut
Lager
Malt
Malt extract
Malt flavoring
Malt syrup
Malt vinegar
Matzo semolina
Mir
Miso*
Oats*
Oat Bran*
Oat Flour*
Oriental wheat (Triticum turanicum)
Pasta (includes whole wheat, enriched, orzo, macaroni)
Pearl barley
Persian wheat (Triticum carthlicum)
Poulard wheat (Triticum turgidum)
Polish wheat (Triticum polonicum)
Quick Oats*
Rice malt (if barley or koji are used)
Roux
Rye
Seitan
Rye flour
Secale cereal
Semolina
Semolina triticum
Shot wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Shoyu
Small spelt
Soy Sauce*
Sprouted wheat or barley
Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl hydrolyzed wheat protein
Steel Cut Oats*
Strong flour
Suet in packets
Tabbouleh
Tempeh Teriyaki sauce*
Textured vegetable protein (TYP)
Timopheevi wheat (Triticum timopheevii)
Triticale (x triticosecale)
Triticum vulgare (wheat) flour lipids
Triticum vulgare (wheat) germ extract
Triticum vulgare (wheat) germ oil
Udon (wheat noodles)
Unbleached flour
Vanilla extract*
Vanilla flavoring*
Vavilovi wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Vegetable starch
Vital Gluten
Wheat
Wheat berries
Wheat germ oil
Wheat germ extract
Wheat grass (may contain seeds)*
Wheat nuts
Wheat protein
Wheat starch*
Whole-meal flour
Wild einkorn (Triticum boeotictim)
Wild emmer (Triticum dicoccoides)

(NOTE- Items marked with an asterisk (*) mean that they may be gluten-free depending on ingredients used as well as a variety of other factors that include a company testing their products to comply with gluten-free labeling.)

You can click here to read the full article and explore a wealth of information on the Gluten Free School website.